Bucket listings: everything comes back to frodo

July 8, 2012 § 1 Comment

Ok.

So. I just spent two disheartening hours on MLS looking at houses in Toronto. It’s extreme. The fact is, even if the houses were remotely in my budget, I wouldn’t want them because they’re horrible, and no one even sits on their stoops anymore.
All I want is a house with a garden and a studio in the back and a table that sits 20… and maybe a hammock. Is this so much? Does this still exist? I want it so bad I feel like life won’t begin until I have it (I know). I feel that most people want this too, somehow, in their own way–a cozy cottage in the city.

Well it’s not in the city but I found this so inspiring that I had to share it with you. This family from Wales, equally disheartened by ridiculous house prices, set out to the country to build their very own eco-friendly HOBBIT HOLE. And they did it for only five thousand dollars!! It’s equipped with composting toilet, green roof, fireplace and all the necessary furnishings to make a hole a home.
Now it’s not a perfect fix; There’s no Pho place around the corner and I doubt you could fit 20 people around their table, but it’s still so beautiful and inspiring and what I think an exasperated generation’s  home might look like more and more.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Jump over here for the source article.

§ One Response to Bucket listings: everything comes back to frodo

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bucket listings: everything comes back to frodo at caru ty to.

meta

